HMDA Norms

HMDA Norms and Divisions

HMDA Norms & Land use Zoning classification

Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA)

An HMDA layout is a layout approved by the Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA) which is responsible for the development of the Hyderabad Metropolitan region.The Hyderabad Metropolitan Development Authority (HMDA) was formed by an Act (G.O.Ms.No.570 MA & UD (11) Dept., dt.25.08.2008) of the then combined state of Andhra Pradesh Government in the year 2008

Structure Of HMDA

HMDA jurisdiction covers (7) Districts, (70) Mandals, 1032 Villages including Greater Hyderabad Municipal Corporation consisting of 175 Villages and 40 Municipalities / Nagar Panchayats consisting of 138 villages and remaining 719 Villages under jurisdiction of the HMDA.

Areas Under HMDA

Hyderabad district, Medchal district, part of Rangareddy district, Bhuvanagiri district, Sangareddy district, Medak district and Siddipet district.

Approval For HMDA Approval

  • The applicant has to apply online by registering with HMDA in DPMS Website
  • And apply for Development Permission Common Application Form, Common Undertaking.
  • Applicant/Architect has to enclose the Required Documents along with the online application.

Documents Required For HMDA Approval

  • Building completion notice certified by the architect.
  • PDF drawing as per the construction.
  • Declaration cum Undertaking on Rs. 100/- Non Judicial Stamp Paper duly signed by the Owner, Builder, Architect & Structural Engineer.
  • Photographs of the building.

As per the new building and layout guidelines, HMDA layouts should have a 30 or 40 feet road width in Hyderabad and nearby districts. But since last year, the HMDA has been insisting on a road width of 100 feet to allow layouts over 10 acres


  1. Residential Use Zones (R1, R2, R3, and R4)
  2. Peri-Urban Use Zone
  3. Commercial Use Zone
  4. Manufacturing Use Zone
  5. Multiple Use Zone
  6. Use Zone for Public, Semi-Public Facilities, and Utilities
  7. Forest Zone
  8. Water Bodies Zone
  9. Agriculture Use Zone
  10. Traffic and Transportation Use Zone
  11. Recreation and Open Space Use Zone
  12. Special Reservations Zone


1. Residential Use Zone

Residential zones categorize as R-1, R-2, R-3, and R-4 zones as areas with residential neighborhoods, where enterprises may or may not operate.

2. Peri-Urban Zone

Building usage is allowed on 25% of the land in the Peri-urban zone. The authorities permit residential buildings to have a maximum height of 15 meters, and commercial constructions can reach up to 18 meters. Based on construction, specific conditions will apply.

3. Commercial Use Zone

All commercial activities are permissible in this area.

4. Manufacturing Use Zone

This zone is categorized into 2 types:

  • The only industrial developments allowed on this land. Residential building is not permitted.
  • The Hyderabad Airport Development Authority (HADA) created it in accordance with the master plan.

5. Public and Semi-Public Use Zone

Recognizing that public and semi-public buildings and institutions have their own distinct set of conditions as well as the important services they give to the community is the goal of the public and semi-public zone.

The 3 categories of this zone are as follows:

  • Use zone for public, semi-public, and utilities
  • Amenities
  • Facilities for Public Utilities

6. Multiple Use Zone

  • The Outer Ring Road is close by. All constructions permitted in residential zones are also allowed here.
  • It is divided into 4 groups:
  • Zone of Multiple Uses
  • Special Development Zone
  • General Development Promotion Zone (GDPZ)
  • Central Square

7. Recreation and Open Space Zone

This land is only used for recreational activities. This could include everything from playgrounds, swimming pools, and sporting fields, to open places like parks.

It is divided into 3 groups:

  • Zone for Recreational Use
  • Open Space Buffer(Around the Foreshore of Waterbodies)
  • Zone for Reforestation at Himayath Sagar.

8. Water Bodies

Generally speaking, all water bodies, including rivers, streams, lakes, tanks, and kuntas, make up the majority of the water body zone. This area includes all rivers and lakes, including Himayat Sagar.

9. Forest Zone

In forest zones, only plants and other vegetation can be grown. Authorities do not permit other actions in forest zones.

10. Special Reservations Zone

Historic Structures and Precincts, Defense Lands, and other areas make up this zone.

It is divided into 4 groups:

  • Heritage Buildings and Precincts (S1)
  • Defense / Military Lands (S2)
  • Bio Conservation Zone (S3)
  • Others (S4)

11) Conservation (Agriculture)

The conservation (agriculture) use zone is the peri-urban use zone. Crops and cattle are grown and harvested on agricultural land. This could be anything, including farms, ranches, or pastures.

12. Traffic and Transportation

Transport services are what the traffic and transport zone is all about—helping people go from one place to another.

It is divided into 4 categories:

  • Roads
  • Railways / Railway Stations
  • Bus Depots, Passenger / Freight Terminals
  • Airports

Compare listings